GlobalSIP 2018:

5G Satellite Networks: Signal Processing Applications and Challenges

[Download the PDF Call for Papers]

5G systems are not only new protocols, but, more importantly, they embrace a new telecommunication infrastructure. As such, one of the challenges is to achieve a convergence between the terrestrial and the satellite segments. Simultaneously, in the past few years, many satellite operators have been upgrading and/or enlarging their constellations to deliver enhanced functionalities and higher frequency reuse, by means of V/HTS technology, and not only of geostationary orbits, but also non-geostationary ones. These new trends pose interesting challenges regarding new interference-limited scenarios and spectral efficient techniques. This symposium deals with innovative solutions on signal & information processing and optimization for the topics listed in this call for papers.

Distinguished Symposium Talk

Muriel Medard Photo

Muriel Medard

Cecil Green Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Laboratory for Electronics
Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)

DL-5GS.1: Network coding in satellites

Muriel Médard is the Cecil H. Green Professor in the Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS) Department at MIT and leads the Network Coding and Reliable Communications Group at the Research Laboratory for Electronics at MIT. She has cofounded three companies to commercialize network coding, CodeOn, Steinwurf and Chocolate Cloud. She has served as editor for many publications of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), of which she was elected Fellow, and she has served as Editor in Chief of the IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications. She was President of the IEEE Information Theory Society in 2012, and served on its board of governors for eleven years. She has served as technical program committee co‐chair of many of the major conferences in information theory, communications and networking. She received the 2009 IEEE Communication Society and Information Theory Society Joint Paper Award, the 2009 William R. Bennett Prize in the Field of Communications Networking, the 2002 IEEE Leon K. Kirchmayer Prize Paper Award and several conference paper awards. She was co‐winner of the MIT 2004 Harold E. Edgerton Faculty Achievement Award, received the 2013 EECS Graduate Student Association Mentor Award and served as Housemaster for seven years. In 2007 she was named a Gilbreth Lecturer by the U.S. National Academy of Engineering. She received the 2016 IEEE Vehicular Technology James Evans Avant Garde Award, the 2017 Aaron Wyner Distinguished Service Award from the IEEE Information Theory Society and the 2017 IEEE Communications Society Edwin Howard Armstrong Achievement Award.


Tuesday, November 27
09:40 - 10:40
DL DL-5GS.1: Muriel Medard: "Network coding in satellites"
11:00 - 12:30
5GS-L.1: 5G Technologies
14:00 - 15:30
5GS-L.2: 5G Satellite Communications
15:50 - 16:50
5GS-P.1: 5G Satellite Networks
17:00 - 18:00
Panel 5GS-PAN: 5G SatCom and Cross-Fertilization with 5G PHY Technologies

Organizing Committee

General Chairs

Submissions are welcome on topics including:

Paper Submission

Prospective authors are invited to submit full-length papers (up to 4 pages for technical content including figures and possible references, and with one additional optional 5th page containing only references) and extended abstracts (up to 2 pages, for paper-less industry presentations and Ongoing Work presentations).. Manuscripts should be original (not submitted/published anywhere else) and written in accordance with the standard IEEE double-column paper template. Accepted full-length papers will be indexed on IEEE Xplore. Accepted abstracts will not be indexed in IEEE Xplore, however the abstracts and/or the presentations will be included in the IEEE SPS SigPort. Accepted papers and abstracts will be scheduled in lecture and poster sessions.

Important Dates

Paper Submission DeadlineJune 17, 2018 June 29, 2018
Review Results AnnouncedSeptember 7, 2018
Camera-Ready Papers DueSeptember 24, 2018
November 5, 2018Hotel Room Reservation Deadline